Announcements

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

Spotify Connect and multiple Family accounts - can't see devices

Spotify Connect and multiple Family accounts - can't see devices

Hello,

I have a Family subscription and use a PC (Windows) with Spotify running on it for my main music system. I can stream to the PC, but my girlfriend can't (included in the Family plan, and on the same WiFi).

Also, if she starts playing something on that system and I also want to play music somewhere else in the world, it stops hers - making a whole music system unusable simultaneously by two paying users.

Is there a workaround for this? I find it frustrating that it's called a "family plan" but a single person can control it.

PS: no, switching accounts on the PC is not a viable solution.
3 Replies

Hey @raz_b,

Thanks for reaching out and welcome to the Community!

Can you give us a bit more detail about your particular setup like for example:

• Is your music system connected to your PC via an AUX cable or is it a standalone Connect-enabled one?
  • Is everyone in the Family/Duo plan logged in their own account on their own devices?

Keep in mind that in order to transfer playback to the PC specifically, you need to be logged in the same account as the one that's on the PC. We recommend checking out this article for more info on the topic.

Looking forward to your reply.

Take care,

MihailYModerator
Help others find this answer and click "Accept as Solution".
If you appreciate an answer, maybe give it a Like.
Are you new to the Community? Take a moment to introduce yourself!

Hi @MihailY, 

The PC (running the Spotify app) is connected via USB to a DAC, which is then connected to the amplifier. 

Yes, both of us are connected on our own accounts on our devices (iPhones / iPads).