I need more info on how Spotify pays out royalties

2 people liked this

I need more info on how Spotify pays out royalties

Marcusosb
Casual Listener

Hi I am an artist that has music on Spotify and I am seeking information on a topic that is not listed here nor anywhere else on your sight so please forgive me if this is not the correct department. Plus, if you do not have the answers, please send this inquiry to the correct department and have them answer me as soon as possible. I would like to know a little more about how Spotify pays for plays because your website does not have this information. That is, if Spotify pays out, for example, $0.0065 for one play, how does this $0.0065 splits up between sales royalty (for the master), mechanical royalty and performance royalty? In other words, what percentage of the $0.065 goes to each of these three royalties? I already know that the pay out for one stream fluctuates slightly every month but lets say that, for one particular month, Spotify pays $0.0065 per play. You can correct me if I am wrong here but it is my understanding that this $0.0065 splits evenly for all three royalties. That is, $0.0021 goes to the sales, $0.0021 goes to the mechanical and $0.0021 to the performance. Therefore, if an aggregator like Tunecore, for example, collects payment for 130,000 streams, for the month of May and the sales royalty they collected was $319.34 then the amount that should be paid to Tunecore for Mechanical royalty later on, is $319.34 and to BMI for performance royalty is $319.34 . Please correct me if I am wrong here.

8 Replies

Re: I need more info on how Spotify pays out royalties

user-removed
Not applicable

Hi there.

Thanks for message.

Spotify pays per every stream everytime your track is played and it pays out often - but payment is going to the label or aggregator.

How much you receive as artist, is totally out of Spotify's hands, it is label decision how much they pay.