Step 1

NEXT STEP

large.png

Backstage Intro
Meet the Stars

Backstage Intro: Meet Jason!

MichaelW

Backstage-pass.png

Our Community Rock Stars can submit blog posts to be published on the Spotify Community Blog. To find out more about the Rock Star Program click here. 

Hey there, @JESquare (Rock Star)! Tell us something about yourself.

I’m a Graphic Designer, and I live outside of Washington D.C.. I was a singer in a Death Metal band for two “glorious” weeks.

I’m related to Cotton Mather, on my mother’s side, of Salem Witch Trials infamy. I’m also have a distant uncle, George F Eitemiller who bought himself a permanent ticket on the RMS Titanic.

I proposed to my wife in the ruins of a Church, she might say it was a cemetery.

I’ve been making mixes since it was cassettes and I have an annual Christmas mix--now in it's 15th year.

large.jpgSo, what kind of music are you into?

I’m into all genres from Classical to Death Metal. Right now I’m really into the new wave of Progressive Metal / Djent / Fusion jazz bands like Animals As Leaders, Scale The Summit, Plini, Chon, The Contortionist, Mestis and Exivious.

What's your favorite instrument, and why?

Cello, I love the deep tonal quality. It is hauntingly beautiful as a solo instrument, that just perfectly captures sorrow in a song and yet it can also be a very powerful propulsive instrument in an epic score. For example, listen to Green Days’ "Good Riddance (Time Of Your Life)" and notice how much the Cello ads to that song.

What's your inspiration for creating playlists/covers?

For my covers it’s either an image that inspires me or when I listen to a mix I can see what kind of images the music evokes in me.

For my playlists it's always for my own personal enjoyment. For instance, my brass bands mix came from me noticing I had a few songs in a mix that all were brass bands and I really enjoyed them so I created a mix around that style of music.