Announcements
The Spotify Stars Program: Celebrating Values Week!

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

Hulu can't authorize my account

Solved!

Hulu can't authorize my account

I am a student and am trying to sign up for the Hulu + Student Spotify subscription. I have been a student subscriber for a long time now, but when I try to activate my new Hulu account I get this error, "We’re having trouble authorizing your account with Spotify. Please contact Spotify support to help resolve this issue."

Thanks for your help.

62 Replies

how?

Tried it already. Still nothing.

Having the same issue. Everything was working fine until Spotify had me reverify my student status. After I did I started getting the "We’re having trouble authorizing your account with Spotify. Please contact Spotify support to help resolve this issue" message on Hulu.

Same Issue. Not sure how to potentially resolve issue other than posting it on here. 

Found a solution! Get on the support chat with Hulu. They will give you a free month until they have a permanent solution.

I'm getting the "We’re having trouble authorizing your account with Spotify" after re-verifying my student subscription as well.  I tried getting into a support chat with Hulu and had to wait for 10 minutes, then chat timed out because they're too busy.  Not very impressed with Hulu at this point.

Marked as solution

So I talked to Hulu support and they said that it's on Spotify's end and that they can't help. Thus, I talked to Spotify via their support Twitter (@spotifycares) and after a little back and forth with them & technical team troubleshooting for a few hours they were able to "fix" it.

The solution they came up with was to have support cancel and refund the student premium account reverting it back to a free account, wait an hour, then re-sign up for student premium, then reconnect Hulu.

It was clunky but it worked.