Announcements
The Spotify Stars Program: Celebrating Values Week!

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

Won't accept visa gift card payment?

Won't accept visa gift card payment?

Plan

Free/Premium

Country

North America

Device

HP Laptop to ask, but I listen on a motorola phone

Operating System

Windows 10

My Question or Issue

This is kind of confusing, so I feel like I need to explain a little.

Every month, I use a different vanilla gift card to pay for Spotify. I don't have a credit card since I'm still a student. I always have problems with getting Spotify to accept my gift card. I always buy a visa card so I can pay for everything else I need, and I can never find Spotify gift cards where I live.

I tried hooking it up with PayPal and I tried the trick where you open it in incognito and reenter everything. I tried waiting a few hours to try again and then I tried waiting multiple days. I tried getting a different gift card, but it still doesn't work. I don't know what to do.

Sorry if this wastes anyone's time, or if someone has already asked. I'm going to continue looking for a solution.

12 Replies

Hey there @pkokei,

Thanks for reaching out here in the Community, and welcome!

Keep in mind that in order to be able to use a card to purchase a Spotify subscription, it's necessary that the card meets the requirements listed in this support article. 

If you're still having issues after this, we'd suggest reaching out directly to your payment provider for further help. 

If anything else comes up, the Community will be here.

Cheers!

NovyModerator
Help others find this answer and click "Accept as Solution".
If you appreciate an answer, maybe give it a "Like".
Are you new to the Community? Take a moment to introduce yourself!

Found out that the reason it won't accept it is that I needed to make an in-store purchase, which seems extremely stupid to me. Now I have to add extra to my card every time.