Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

False copyright claim for artist name

False copyright claim for artist name

Hey,

I'm an artist on spotify. An artist with the same name has filled a copyright claim on the artist name and has taken all of my music offline. I just released a record two weeks ago so I'm panicking.  He is unresponsive through email. My distributor TuneCore has just said it's between myself and the other artist. Spotify obvioulsy is practicing a giulty until prooven innocent policy. I've submitted my claim 10 days ago and have heard nothing back from them.  

Theres nothing stopping two artist having the same name on Spotify, so why has this other artist been able to take all my music offline. Any one have any ideas what my next steps should be??

Thanks

5 Replies

I have had this happen to me with a song title before however we were able to contact the person who made the claim. I believe this is done at the distribution stage as that was how we got his email. Ie his distributor has sent him something saying something along the lines of this song has been released do you want it to be removed or contact the other party. We are lucky he chose the latter and said he listened to the song and it wasn't similar.

Seems like you have fallen unlucky with someone who might be bitter about someone having the same name as them. I would phone/message Tunecore if I were you but unfortunately it is quite a difficult issue. Unluckily it will usually happen around the time of a release. It may also be worth looking up spotify artist separation.

Hope this helps, Sorry to hear about this.

Cheers!