Announcements

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

MAJOR Nuances of Library Organization, Curation, and Listening Experience removed with UI Update.

MAJOR Nuances of Library Organization, Curation, and Listening Experience removed with UI Update.

Hello, I am a Premium USA Android User, Samsung Galaxy Note 8 to be particular.

I am a Spotify Veteran for several years now and the Library sorting system has undergone many modifications during my time. If you can recall, we have been able to organize by, at one point or another:

• Starred Songs
  • Liked Songs
  • Saved Songs
  • Saved Albums
  • Follow Artist
  • Albums Saved to Library

A lot of these seem the same because they are. Some of these distinctions have been used, then discarded, and some seemingly reinstated and renamed, over the years etc. This is especially frustrating concerning knowledge established in older blog posts that are helpful at the time but then the nomenclature becomes outdated with each UI update.

Most of my Spotify library growth and organization was done during Late 2017 through this year, 2019. The primary organization method used at the time was "Saving." The best and most intuitive way to organize and curate a music library with the "saving" system (In my opinion) was the following:

1. Follow Artists you listen to. This made them show up in your Artists tab even if you had 0 songs saved by them.
  2. If you like entire albums, then you just hit the big "Save" button on the album at the top and it would save every song in the list without you having to individual hit the + button on it.
  3. If you desired more curation, it was simply a matter of individually saving or unsaving songs within albums. If you only like a song or two on an album, it makes sense to just save those few, instead of the whole album. However, if you only dislike a few songs on the album, it makes sense to save the whole album, then go through and unsave the ones you don't want.