Premium

Country

USA

Device

Samsung Galaxy 10e

Operating System

Android 

My Question or Issue

PLEASE address the issues with Shuffle play algorithms, particularly regarding larger (>100) playlists!  I have a playlist with ~800 songs/52+ hours of music, and I keep hearing the same songs over and over and over...   

I would expect, from a purely mathematical standpoint, if I played my playlist 24x7 I wouldn't hear the same song again, even in shuffle mode, for two days.  Instead I keep getting many of the same songs over and over.  And I know a lot of songs in there absolutely never come up.  (Mind you, I've been working on the playlist for 2+ years, so the pattern is quite evident!)

I don't know how your algorithms work, with "Likes" and "Favorites" and who knows what AI all worked in, but the point of a large playlist is so you DON'T hear the same song(s) too frequently!  

I've seen complaints about "shuffle randomization" in the forum going back years!  With a lot of issues winding up in "Not an Issue", like the user just doesn't understand how shuffle works...?  Well, we do understand how we would LIKE it to work, PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE do something about it?  (I generally enjoy Spotify, but this really does effect the enjoyability of the overall experience.  And there are other music streaming alternatives...)

Thanks, have a great day!

8 Replies

Thank you for your reply and feedback.

We understand that things can feel frustrating when things don't work as you'd like them to. Rest assured that we're always trying to improve as we always strive to improve our features.

There's currently an idea - [All Platforms] Option to have a true shuffle. If you'd like to show your support to the idea you can give it a Like. You can also Subscribe to it to make sure that you don't miss any updates.

Once again - thanks for the feedback, we appreciate it. Let us know if we can help you with anything else.

Take care!

JeremyModerator