Someone entered a collaborative playlist I had with my best friend and removed all of our songs

Solved!
Reply

Someone entered a collaborative playlist I had with my best friend and removed all of our songs

SeanVilla001
Newbie

I had a playlist on my Spotify account called "Memoir From Jersey". Someone by the name of SpotiFlash removed all 150-something songs and replaced it with foreign music. I cannot recover the playlist because it was not deleted, just completely changed. Is there anything I can do to get our songs back? How do I prevent this from happening in the future?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Solution!

Emilia_8
Rock Star 10
Rock Star 10

Hello @SeanVilla001

 

Thank you for reaching out here in the Community!

When a collaborative playlist is public on any profile, other users can edit it. 

Keep in mind that of other users follow this playlist or have a link, they still will be able to edit it, even if the playlist is secret. 

 

In order to recover the deleted songs, I'd recommend reaching out to Customer Support via chat and emailTwitter or message them on FacebookThey will try their best to recover your songs. 

 

The best way to get rid of the unwanted user, would be to create a new secret collaborative playlist and move all the tracks to it.

The easiest way to do it is in your desktop app, you can follow the steps below:

  1. Open the playlist you'd like to copy
  2. Select all tracks contained in the playlist - you can do this using ctrl + a (on Windows) or cmd + a (on Mac)
  3. Right click on the selected tracks
  4. Select Add to Playlist > New Playlist

Then you can also share the link with your friend.

Make sure to keep the playlist secret on all profiles and not share it with other users, so only you and your friend will be able to edit it. 

 

You might also be interested in adding your +VOTE to this Idea

More details on how your feedback reaches Spotify can be found here

 

I hope you'll find this helpful!

Emilia_8Rock Star 10
Help others find this answer and click "Accept as Solution".
If you appreciate my answer, maybe give me a Like.
Note: I'm not a Spotify employee.

View solution in original post

1 Reply
Solution!

Emilia_8
Rock Star 10
Rock Star 10

Hello @SeanVilla001

 

Thank you for reaching out here in the Community!

When a collaborative playlist is public on any profile, other users can edit it. 

Keep in mind that of other users follow this playlist or have a link, they still will be able to edit it, even if the playlist is secret. 

 

In order to recover the deleted songs, I'd recommend reaching out to Customer Support via chat and emailTwitter or message them on FacebookThey will try their best to recover your songs. 

 

The best way to get rid of the unwanted user, would be to create a new secret collaborative playlist and move all the tracks to it.

The easiest way to do it is in your desktop app, you can follow the steps below:

  1. Open the playlist you'd like to copy
  2. Select all tracks contained in the playlist - you can do this using ctrl + a (on Windows) or cmd + a (on Mac)
  3. Right click on the selected tracks
  4. Select Add to Playlist > New Playlist

Then you can also share the link with your friend.

Make sure to keep the playlist secret on all profiles and not share it with other users, so only you and your friend will be able to edit it. 

 

You might also be interested in adding your +VOTE to this Idea

More details on how your feedback reaches Spotify can be found here

 

I hope you'll find this helpful!

Emilia_8Rock Star 10
Help others find this answer and click "Accept as Solution".
If you appreciate my answer, maybe give me a Like.
Note: I'm not a Spotify employee.

View solution in original post

SUGGESTED POSTS