Autoplay not working correctly

Solved!
Reply
Highlighted

Autoplay not working correctly

Regular

Plan

Free/Premium

Country

 

Device

(iPhone 8, Samsung Galaxy 9, Macbook Pro late 2016)

Operating System

(iOS 10, Android Oreo, Windows 10,etc.)

 

My Question or Issue

At some point recently (might be IOS 14) autoplay has stopped working properly. When I search for a song and choose it in results, autoplay will not play any songs but playing stops after selected song. However if I return to search results and select the song again autoplay magically almost always works. HOrrible and tedious.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Solution!

Re: Autoplay not working correctly

Regular

Hi.

 

This might actually have solved the problem, thx.

View solution in original post

9 Replies
Highlighted

Re: Autoplay not working correctly

Moderator
Moderator

Hey there @Sheephead77

 

Thanks for posting - we’re here to help!

 

If the Autoplay feature doesn't act as expected it's good idea to clean reinstall Spotify on the device where this occurs. This step lets you start afresh with the latest app version by removing any corrupted files from previous installations. 

 

In case you see no difference after that, try disabling any power saving or data cleaning settings on your mobile device. Alternatively, you can try authorizing Spotify to run without restrictions despite the mentioned settings being enabled. Make sure you try this since such features can often prevent the app from operating at full capacity.

 

Keep us posted! We'll be here if you have any questions.  

IvanModerator
Help others find this answer and click "Accept as Solution".
If you appreciate my answer, maybe give me a Like.
“Music is the strongest form of magic.” Marilyn Manson
Highlighted
Solution!

Re: Autoplay not working correctly

Regular

Hi.

 

This might actually have solved the problem, thx.

View solution in original post

Highlighted

Re: Autoplay not working correctly

Music Fan

Autoplay on Spotify does not work period. I don’t like to come off as a sarcastic pita. But I dropped Apple Music for Spotify. And never had I had to do a clean reinstall, or anything else to make auto play on Apple Music work, it just did. A fixable solution, would be appreciated, thank you

Highlighted

Re: Autoplay not working correctly

Regular

INdeed, the problem is back for me now. Most of the times when I select a song from the search results autoplay does not play until I go back to the search results and reselect/restart the same song.

Highlighted

Re: Autoplay not working correctly

Moderator
Moderator

Hey @Sheephead77,

 

Thanks for keeping us in the loop.

 

We're sorry to hear you're still experiencing this issue. Since a clean reinstall solved it last time, it seem that there may be something interfering with the apps cache. Could you let us know if you have any cache clearing or battery optimization apps and if you do - add Spotify as an exception? Keep in mind that even if you haven't downloaded any such apps yourself, some devices have them preinstalled. 

 

Once this is done, performing a clean reinstall once more should resolve the issue.

 

Keep us posted on how it goes. We're always one reply away.

MihailModerator
Help others find this answer and click "Accept as Solution".
If you appreciate my answer, maybe give me a Like.
 
“Music is a language that doesn’t speak in particular words. It speaks in emotions, and if it’s in the bones, it’s in the bones.” - Keith Richards
Highlighted

Re: Autoplay not working correctly

Regular

No such apps or anything. This probem started on my iPhone suddenly, only recent new nachge was iOS update to 14

Highlighted

Re: Autoplay not working correctly

Regular
A clean reinstall seems to fix the problem, only for it to return quite quickly.
Highlighted

Re: Autoplay not working correctly

Moderator
Moderator

Hey @Sheephead77,

 

Thanks for your post.

 

We appreciate your report about this behavior and passed it along to the right folks at out developer team. We can't say if and when exactly this will be fixed, but we recommend that you always keep the app up to date with the latest version. That way you'll make use of all features and fixes, as soon as they are made available.

 

Hope this info is useful. Let us know if there's anything else we can help with.

MihailModerator
Help others find this answer and click "Accept as Solution".
If you appreciate my answer, maybe give me a Like.
 
“Music is a language that doesn’t speak in particular words. It speaks in emotions, and if it’s in the bones, it’s in the bones.” - Keith Richards
Highlighted

Re: Autoplay not working correctly

Music Fan

Same here, I did the reinstall more than once. My guess, it’s a bug with the app. Hopefully Spotify has a fix soon. 

 

SUGGESTED POSTS