Announcements
The Spotify Stars Program: Celebrating Values Week!

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

Can't turn off shuffle play

Solved!

Can't turn off shuffle play

I have tried to turn off the new shuffle play (using the 'I'). When I push this it says I need to upgrade to premium. I already do have premium. How do I get my songs playing in their right playlist order?

Solution by Matt Suda:

If you have a premium subscription, you will be able to turn off shuffle in the iPhone app.

265 Replies

yep this is a problem for sure - many albums are made to be listened to in a particular order and only after reading this thread have i finally been able to turn shuffle off. so annoying. update the interface please!

I'm a UX Designer and I have had to seek online support for this Shuffle issue twice now. Spotify UI designers, it's OK to include layered/hidden features but there is little indication that the header area is clickable when a song is playing. The "i" seems to indicate only meta or superfulous information about the track will be revealed when tapped. Also why would the global Shuffle settings be controled within a single track's UI? That's an error with granularity of information/features. This is the only issue I've had with the Spotify iOS UI.

How did you figure this out? The way spotify did this could be the most moronic user exerpiecne I have ever seen.

This has been driving me crazy too. Finally understanding now how to do it it does not work. Nothing I touch on the i-page reacts. So unfortunately, the shuffle **bleep** is still on. Hope spotify corrects this so you can easily turn it of or on on top of the playlist. This is way to stupid! I don´t use Spotify on my iPhone at the moment because of this, only on my Mac, there it is just so easy...

for me when I click on the I, while playing a song, i look at the bottom of the screen and there is no shuffle botton on the bottom the phone is ios7 but i dont think that would affect right?