Announcements

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

HELP! Spotify Tried to Double My Subscription Cost

Solved!

HELP! Spotify Tried to Double My Subscription Cost

I have been using Spotify for a couple of years as an Unlimited subscriber.  I enjoy the service and many friends have subsequently signed up, I even trained them how to get the best out of it.

I recently purchased an Android o/s tablet PC.  I tried to get Spotify on it but it said I had to upgrade my subscription to 'Premium' which doubled the cost.  My usage of Spotify will be the same as with my old laptop.  Wi-fi connection in my kitchen, occasionally wi-fi connection when I'm on holiday.  I never, ever use, and would never ever use it on my mobile phone, ever.  I would never, ever us it offline.  I don't want better sound quality, it's just fine as it is.  I use it a couple of hours a week that's all.

I've sent correspondence to Spotify to say that I can't justify paying double the amount.  At £10 a month, it's almost the same price as our mandatory TV licence, it just isn't worth it to me, I can't justify any company doubling their price for no extra service.  I have received back a no frills, like it or lump it response, no mention of thanks for referrals, nothing.  Basically, 'goodbye then'.

I have done or said something wrong, my tablet doesnt even connect to the mobile network?  They haven't justified why they could just double the price to £120 per annum.  They have just said it's because I'm using a mobile device, which is incidentally no more mobile than my old laptop.  I just don't get it at all.

Can anyone help please, I love this service but am at a loss as to why they want to increase my charges by 100 percent.

Thanks in advance for your responses.

Chris

Accepted Solutions
Marked as solution

Hey! Welcome to the community 🙂