Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

Playing Spotify Overseas

Playing Spotify Overseas

Hi all,

I'm a USA resident going on a mission trip to Nigeria for 17 days. I have a Verizon iPhone and was told it is unlikely my Spotify playlist will work offline in Nigeria despite that I am a Premium paying member.  I'm not too tech-savvy, but does anyone know if this is true?  If so, are there any other options for me to get it to work?  Thanks for the feedback.

Spoiler

10 Replies

Hey! Welcome to the community 🙂 

You should be good to go with Spotify premium whilst you are away! Probably the safest option is to download all of the content you want when you are at home, then force the application into offline mode in the settings menu. Once that is done, those playlists will be accessible on your phone without an internet connection whilst you are away. 

You do need to go online at least once every 30 days, so just be sure to let the client go into online mode again when you get home (or anytime you have a connection and want to stream!)

Peter

Peter
Spotify Community Mentor and Troubleshooter

Spotify Last.FM Twitter LinkedIn Meet Peter Rock Star Jam 2014

If this post was helpful, please add kudos below!

Thanks for the info Peter. I live in Australia and I'll be going to NIGERIA for 2 years in a few months. I'm glad to here I can listen to my already synced music offline being a Premium subscriber. Can I continue paying for my Premium subscription with my Aussie account while I'm away and will I be able to use Spotify radio while I'm away in NIGERIA?

@Phunshawpraz - yep, you totally can. It's worth making sure the card/payment method used on your account is valid for the entire time you're away to avoid any subscription issues, but everything else should be fine. Radio will work but it's not available offline so you'd need to have a reliable Internet connection, that's it. Enjoy Nigeria! 

--------------------------------------------------------------