Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

gift card query

gift card query

my boyfriend bought me a £30 spotify gift card for christmas and i was hoping to be able to buy 6 months of premium with it after creditting it to my account - i am a student and have validated my nus card with my log on. however when i redeem my gift card it only gives me the option to buy premium at the full price for 3 months or download 45 tracks.... neither of which i want. can anyone help? if i select the premium option will it take into account my nus discount and give me sixth months? thanks

5 Replies

Hey! Welcome to the community 🙂 

Unfortunately, to my knowledge anyways, the NUS discounted rate is only available when paying by a rolling monthly subscription and not in conjunction with any other offers, whether that is gift cards or a yearly rolling subscription. 

For an official clarification (and possibly some more help with this) I would suggest you get in touch with the customer services people using the online contact form

Peter

Peter
Spotify Community Mentor and Troubleshooter

Spotify Last.FM Twitter LinkedIn Meet Peter Rock Star Jam 2014

If this post was helpful, please add kudos below!

thanks.

i stil don't understand how that is correct though and i have contacted them via the link you gave me. i don't see how a gift card can be classified as an offer, as it was bought for me for £30 under the presumption it would just credit my account £30 and i could spend that on whatever i liked, not a specific service. if i were to buy a gift card for any retail store and went to buy an item that was discounted, eg. buying a sale jumper with a topshop gift card, they wouldn't tell me i couldn't buy it because i was paying with a gift card! it seems silly...

will keep you updated

frankie

I think this is down to how the Spotify system is designed to work with gift cards.