Announcements

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

Spotify royalty system needs an overhaul ASAP!

Spotify royalty system needs an overhaul ASAP!

I just recently (today) was made aware by YLE News in Finland, that I have been paying the bills of so called musicians, which I wouldn't get caught dead listening. That needs to stop! I have been using Premium for 7 years straight now and have an taste of somewhat non mainstream music. Genres like Hip Hop (or at least that what majority of people call's Hip Hop), and mainstream Pop are absolute no no music styles for me, due to the severe lack of depth in them - it's a matter of taste and I have the right to state my opinion accordingly.

And all that time I have had the impression that I have been supporting the music made by the artists and bands from the genres which I listen to, mainly Alternative music, Punk, Metal, Industrial, Rock in it's dirty forms, different Techno styles etc. But instead Spotify has poured my monthly payments in the hands of different no tallent pop and hip hop personators. That is unacceptable!

Look. It's very simple. If I would like to support those people in question, I would just stop using my brain and go buy their CD's or MP3's. But I don't want to support them, so I don't buy their material. If I would like to eat at Mcdonalds, I would go and eat at Mcdonalds. But I want to eat at home, or in a place with more ethical or individual approach to food.