Announcements

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

BMW Integration: Questions about technical background

BMW Integration: Questions about technical background

Hi there! 

First of all: I'm a BMW Technician wanting to use Spotify in my car really badly.

The problem now is: Support-Page and every other thread in here are saying, that Connecteddrive and Spotify only work together in the 2016 7-Series right now. 

From our point of view, this can't be correct. All BMWs from mid 2016 on use the same Navi-System (assuming we're talking about the Navi Prof. it is Headunit High NBT_Evo. ID5). And all this systems seem to work together with Spotify on Android as long as USB-Debugging is activated (We've tested it on a 1 and a 3-Series Mid 2016 car).

@ Spotify: Please comment, if this is intended and if yes add it to the Supportpage, please. 

And i also have another question: Are you still working on getting Spotify to work with older BMWs? Or should we no longer expect an update making the Connecteddrive-Integration available on BMW built prior to 2016? 

Many greetings!

7 Replies

Awesome question. I hope someone replies. I was so disappointed when I got an S7 and it wouldn't work in my 2016 3 series.

I can take a look in the Computer for you, if a firmware-update for your car could help, or if there are any other solutions. Please PM me your VIN and i can take a look. 

Hi all!, Anyone found a fix, patch or something?

Im on a Sony Xperia XZ Premium (Android ver 7.1.1) and a BMW 330e, both picked up July 2017, having the same integration issues as lots of others ; able to connect via bluetooth or Aux but have to use the phones interface for info and input. Usb connection: none.

@RuBi - Did you got any feedback from Spotify?