Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

Suddenly, certain songs "play" silence.

Suddenly, certain songs "play" silence.

Description

I've been running Spotify on my Android device for a few months now. Just yesterday it started with this problem, where it would appear to play a song, but there was no audio. The UI shows that it seems to be playing. When it gets to the end of the song, nothing else happens, it does not continue on to the next song.

Now, I exclusively stream. There are no local files. This is on 3G, and in the same locales that I have been in for the past few months.

If I fast-forward onto the next song, that one will play. But, eventually another song will not play. I have not been able to get the silent song to play properly. Skipping ahead and then back, seeking around that silent track, closing and stopping Spotify and then restarting, are all things I have tried to get the song to play, and have not worked.

I have cleared the Spotify cache and data, uninstalled, shut down my phone, pulled the battery, and then reset everthing back again, to no avail.

What are the steps you took to get to the error/issue?

Just select some music, and start playing it. I usually select an album to listen to. After a track or two (or three or four) I'll not hear anything, though it appears from the UI that it is playing as I already said.

What I expected to happen

I expect to hear the song, thanks!

Did you restart your device when troubleshooting in section B?

Yes

Did you read the connection troubleshooting tips?

Yes

Your device

Samsung Galaxy Nexus on Verizon.

Device’s Operating System

4.0.4 Ice Cream Sandwitch

What type of account do you have?

Premium

Space left on your device

13.51GB

Space left on your SD card (if applicable)

N/A

Space left on your External SD card (if applicable)

N/A

Is your device rooted?

No

Are you using a custom ROM, if so which one, exactly?

No

Did you set your external SD card as storage location?

No