Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

Linux Regular Spotify Crash

Linux Regular Spotify Crash

Running Elementary OS 0.3, I regularly (every 2-3 days) get a "spotify crashed with SIGABRT in pa_stream_get_timing_info()" message.

Package is spotify-client 1:0.9.17.1

I found 3 threads in the forums about previous versions with similar error messages. Has anyone found a solution to this?

Any help is appreciated.

14 Replies

Sounds weird, but any guess what could cause it:

I mean, does it happen after a certain action, or after running for so long (2-3 days),... ?

I guess for better analysis devs would need a crash dump (plus running threads dump and so on)

What's the easiest way to get those files? (I'm fairly new to Linux)

This is what I caught in syslog:

Jul  7 17:06:21 XXXElemOS whoopsie[1216]: online
Jul  8 14:18:58 AdamElemOS whoopsie[1216]: Parsing /var/crash/_opt_spotify_spotify-client_spotify.1000.crash.
Jul  8 14:18:58 XXXXElemOS whoopsie[1216]: Uploading /var/crash/_opt_spotify_spotify-client_spotify.1000.crash.
Jul  8 14:19:00 XXXXElemOS whoopsie[1216]: Sent; server replied with: No error
Jul  8 14:19:00 XXXXElemOS whoopsie[1216]: Response code: 200
Jul  8 14:19:00 XXXXElemOS whoopsie[1216]: Got command: OOPSID

I hope that helps.

If anyone could let me know how to obtain a crash dump and running thread dump for Spotify, I would appreciate it.

Thanks

Your post above shows already something interesting:

/var/crash/_opt_spotify_spotify-client_spotify.1000.crash

could be a dump

but: to be sure do this:

1. start spotify from terminal, then you see log messages

2. then you will see at begin something like:

04:42:30.540 I [breakpad.cpp:261 ] Searching for crashdumps: /home/YOUR_USER_HERE/.cache/spotify/*.dmp

this is also a dump

More about creating yourself dumps, if you don't find anything in the log messages

It finally crashed for me again!

Here's what I got from the terminal right before the crash: