Announcements

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

Re: Changing from premium to family do playlists and downloads get deleted?

Solved!

Re: Changing from premium to family do playlists and downloads get deleted?

I am currently on a Duo Plan and want to move to a family plan as we are now 3.

1/ How do I make sure all the playlists for both of us get transferred on the family plan, as is? 

2/ if I am connected to someone's playlist to which I add my own songs, will I still be able to continue adding my songs to this other person' s playlist that I have downloaded for myself?

3/ Will person #3 who is on a personal premium account be able to move to the family account without loosing its playlists?

 

Thank you

 

 

Reply

Accepted Solutions
Marked as solution

Hi @mlpourbaix,

 

Thanks for posting in the Spotify Community, and welcome!

 

No worries, Spotify users keep all of their playlists, saved music, and settings regardless of which plan they switch to or from. So when you switch plans from Premium Duo to Premium Family, both members of the old Premium Duo plan will keep their playlists while on the new Premium Family plan; and person #3 will also be able to join the new Premium Family plan without losing their playlists.

 

The plan manager for the current Premium Duo plan can switch to Premium Family by following these steps:

  1. Log in to your account page
  2. Under Manage your plan, click Change plan
  3. Select Premium Family

Their plan will be updated immediately to Premium Family, and their billing schedule will change due to the price difference between the two plans. 

 

The account of the other member from the old Premium Duo plan will then revert to the free service at the plan manager’s next billing date (visible on their account page), at which time the plan manager can then invite them and person #3 to the new Premium Family plan (by following these steps).

 

Note that since downloading music for offline listening is a Premium feature, the member of the current Premium Duo plan who isn’t the plan manager will need to re-download any music for offline listening once they’ve joined the new Premium Family plan.

 

With regards to your second question about collaborative playlists, you’ll be able to continue adding songs to that person’s playlist, even if you’re on the free plan and you don’t have the playlist downloaded for offline listening. The ability to add, remove, and reorder tracks in collaborative playlists that you’ve been invited to isn’t a Premium feature and doesn’t require being subscribed to a particular subscription plan.

 

Feel free to read more about switching between different subscription plans on Spotify in this support article, and let me know if you have any other questions.

 

Have a good day!

AdamDamSpotify Star
Help others find this answer and click "Accept as Solution".
If you appreciate my answer, maybe give me a Like.
Note: I'm not a Spotify employee.

View solution in original post

1 Reply
Marked as solution

Hi @mlpourbaix,

 

Thanks for posting in the Spotify Community, and welcome!

 

No worries, Spotify users keep all of their playlists, saved music, and settings regardless of which plan they switch to or from. So when you switch plans from Premium Duo to Premium Family, both members of the old Premium Duo plan will keep their playlists while on the new Premium Family plan; and person #3 will also be able to join the new Premium Family plan without losing their playlists.

 

The plan manager for the current Premium Duo plan can switch to Premium Family by following these steps:

  1. Log in to your account page
  2. Under Manage your plan, click Change plan
  3. Select Premium Family

Their plan will be updated immediately to Premium Family, and their billing schedule will change due to the price difference between the two plans. 

 

The account of the other member from the old Premium Duo plan will then revert to the free service at the plan manager’s next billing date (visible on their account page), at which time the plan manager can then invite them and person #3 to the new Premium Family plan (by following these steps).

 

Note that since downloading music for offline listening is a Premium feature, the member of the current Premium Duo plan who isn’t the plan manager will need to re-download any music for offline listening once they’ve joined the new Premium Family plan.

 

With regards to your second question about collaborative playlists, you’ll be able to continue adding songs to that person’s playlist, even if you’re on the free plan and you don’t have the playlist downloaded for offline listening. The ability to add, remove, and reorder tracks in collaborative playlists that you’ve been invited to isn’t a Premium feature and doesn’t require being subscribed to a particular subscription plan.

 

Feel free to read more about switching between different subscription plans on Spotify in this support article, and let me know if you have any other questions.

 

Have a good day!

AdamDamSpotify Star
Help others find this answer and click "Accept as Solution".
If you appreciate my answer, maybe give me a Like.
Note: I'm not a Spotify employee.

Suggested posts