Premium

Country

Singapore

Device

Samsung S22 Ultra

Operating System

Android 12

My Question or Issue

As the subject mentions, I am unable to properly download local songs from my PC into my phone. I used to be able to do this by pressing the "Download' icon whilst connected to my PC. However, recently, I noticed that all of my local songs were unplayable, and when attempting to download them again, I am unable to do so.

I have tried:
Reinstalling both Android and Windows App (After clearing the cache and data on the phone) - Not working.

Creating a new playlist with all the songs again and download - Not working.

Putting my local song files into my phone and manually "downloading" them again - Works for a moment, but removing those files will cause the playlist to be unplayable again.

What happened Spotify? I am trying to be patient with this issues, as I am a developer myself, but it is really trying to see that none of your solutions work and the only work around is to manually add my own songs into the phone, removing the point of having Spotify altogether. Seeking your understanding and assistance in this matter.

11 Replies

Hi @30Manjuu!

Here's something that works for me when I run into issues with syncing the local files from my PC to my phone:

1. Keep the Spotify app running on your PC, then go to your phone's settings > Apps > Spotify and clear the app's cache and data. This will remove all downloads and reset your preferences.
  2. Force stop the app, then reboot your phone. When it boots back up, log in to Spotify, adjust your preferences in the app's settings and download the playlist containing your local files.

Hope this helps. Let us know how it goes.

Cheers!

YordanModerator
Help others find this answer and click "Accept as Solution".
If you appreciate an answer, maybe give it a "Like".
Are you new to the Community? Take a moment to introduce yourself!

Hi @Yordan,

Unfortunately, this does not seem to fix the issue.