Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

Waiting to download? Why?

Waiting to download? Why?

I'm very frustrated right now, not being able to simply download local songs to my phone. I have been using spotify for probably five years at this point, and am becoming increasingly frustrated regarding how finicky the iOS app has become.

Basically, I have around 1000 tracks I want to sync to my phone, so I put them all in one big playlist to sync to my phone. That didn't work, so I organized all my local songs by album into playlists and then into a folder, just to see if they would download at all. They have not. I have enough storage, I am on the same wifi as phone. Wondering where to turn, I've always had issues with offline downloading and spotify. 

The top of each playlist that contains the local songs which I would like to sync say "waiting to download" on ios. 

7 Replies

I've had a few issues with this myself and may have found a reliable solution.

1. Make sure you are on the same network as the other device.
  2. Make sure that the spotify application is open on both devices and the devices are unlocked.
  3. Make sure that the songs are in a playlist and the playlist is set to "avaliable offline" on both your phone and on the desktop.
  4. Restart the desktop application.
  5. Restart the iOS application.

I'm curious if this works for others, so let me know if this helps at all.

P.S.: If you are on a highly restricted network such as a school's or business's network, that may be affecting the sync as well.

How do I set a playlist to "available offline"?

Ah my apologies, it's actually labeled as "Download" if it is unselected and "Downloaded" if it is selected.

The sider is located on the right side of the Desktop application and on the top of the iOS application. These sliders are located when you open the playlist you are trying to sync.

Desktop: 

Screen Shot 2017-02-01 at 12.10.24 PM.png

iOS:

image1.png