Announcements

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

When adding to a shared playlist on iOS, it does not show when a collaborator has already added it

When adding to a shared playlist on iOS, it does not show when a collaborator has already added it

Plan: Premium

Country: Singapore

 

Device

(iPhone 12 Pro)

Operating System

(iOS 16.6.1)

 

My Question or Issue

On iOS, when using “+” on a song to add to other playlists, it is supposed to display the playlists which a song has already been added to. However, if a song was added by another collaborator but not you, it does not show up as a green checkmark.

If you add the song in the playlist not knowing that it is already added, the iOS app does not notify of duplicates, but the desktop app will notify when adding the same song.

If you try to remove the duplicate song that you added, it will remove the original collaborator’s addition as well, removing the song completely from the playlist.

There is no way to remove duplicates from the playlist besides manually finding them and removing. 

Reply
5 Replies

I have a mix Playlist (with another collaborator). The song will already be on our Playlist but when I go to like it and add it to my own separate Playlist, it doesn't show a checkmark indicating that it's already in our mix Playlist (the one we share). So we keep adding duplicate songs because Spotify is not showing us that it's already added.. This only started happening a day or 2 ago

Hey there,

Thanks for reaching out on the Community!

Our developers are aware of this and it is being worked on 🙂 

While we can't give you a specific timeframe in which the issue will be resolved, we suggest that you always keep your app up-to-date to stay on top of any new released fixes.

The Community is here for you should anything else come to mind in the meantime!

MariaModerator
Help others find this answer and click "Accept as Solution".
If you appreciate an answer, maybe give it a "Like".
Are you new to the Community? Take a moment to introduce yourself!

Plan

Premium

Country

USA

Device

(iPhone 12, Desktop App on multiple Windows laptops)

Operating System

(iOS 17, Windows 10)

 

My Question or Issue

In the past 2-3 months I believe, I have noticed on a collaborative playlist shared between me and a friend that we now can add duplicate songs.

 

Previously (and preferably), we were notified that a song was already in the playlist and was not added. Now the song is added just as any other. When viewing the playlist, two instances of the duplicate song may be seen with the two different users as the "song contributor". 

 

Additionally, If either playlist contributor tries to remove a duplicate song from the playlist, it will remove both instances of the added song, requiring the song to be added again.

 

My friend and I have used this large playlist to share new music we find for over a year so it is frustrating to have no notification anymore if the other person has already added a song. 

 

(Attachments are from Desktop app Win10, and iOS 17)

Screenshot 2024-03-19 at 9.18.10 AM.png
Screenshot 2024-03-19 091316.png

Hi everyone, I want to discuss that when using a shared playlist between two individuals, both users can add tracks to it. When attempting to add a track, the option displays liked tracks and other playlist options. If the track hasn't been previously liked or added, the circle with the green tick appears on the right side. However, there's an issue: even if the track has been added by another person in the shared playlist, the circle with the green tick doesn't appear and is greyed out.

 

Consequently, users inadvertently add duplicate entries to the playlist, increasing the track count per hour and disrupting shuffle functionality, leading to repetitive listening experiences.

 

This persistent issue hampers collaborative playlist curation. 

IMG_3211.PNG
IMG_3206.PNG

This is still a problem🙄

Suggested posts