Premium

Country

USA

Device

iphone x, google pixel 4a5g

Operating System

windows 10, ios 15.6, android 12

My Question or Issue

I've been using local files for a few years now and usually I can figure out how to get files to sync to my phones via wifi myself, but all of a sudden it just won't work anymore. I am on the correct network, I have local files enabled on my pixel and iphone. Usually renaming files/folders or moving folders/files around fixes it but everything that used to work in the past stopped working today. I synced a song over wifi yesterday.

I've tried literally everything and I have read thru tons of troubleshooting threads. I know people say "I tried everything" and then they miss something silly so I'm hoping I'm not that person today. I see that the local files process got changed and you're supposed to have the files present on your iphone (i didnt see anything for android though) and that did work, but it seems like a ton of extra steps and it basically is like having an ipod again. I don't understand why they would make the process more complicated.

I'm only asking because I was able to sync local files a day ago and my friend was able to sync local files on his iphone yesterday, too. Being able to sync over networks would be so much more convenient and quicker.

Accepted Solutions
Marked as solution

This might be the stupidest change you guys could have made. Local files was already barely functional but now you've made its entire function entirely useless. If i have to physically put my local files onto my phone for them to show up in spotify I'll just use Apple music, thank you very much. Even worse is you guys had a working system for years but for some reason decided to downgrade it? 

View solution in original post

5 Replies

I also got a song to sync about 3 hours ago but it stopped working after that song

Hey @Persephone1,

Thanks for posting in the Community.