Announcements

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

"Unable to Play Track" - I'm getting fed up.

Solved!

"Unable to Play Track" - I'm getting fed up.

I'm becoming more and more frustrated with this annoying message.

I've been using Spotify for months, and for me it is the perfect solution for my music. I have a Premium subscription.

However, it's getting beyond annoying that I get songs in my playlist and now I just magically cannot play them. "Unable to play track" has been going on for long enough. One song will work on my computer, but will be "unable to play track" on my iPhone 5 (iOS 8). Or it'll work on my phone, but not computer. Attached is the error message on my computer, it's basically the same on my phone except a popup.

Songs are from two methods: Spotify's own library (why you guys have it, then give me this message is beyond me), or downloading the track/owning it on my computer and syncing it to Spotify.

I really would like the answer to this annoying problem.

Also, my versions since this seems to be a requirement:

Computer: Spotify 0.9.4.185.g7545a404

iPhone 5: Spotify 0.8.0.57

Spotifyerror.png

Accepted Solutions
Marked as solution

You tend to get this error when:

- You try and play a local file on a mobile device when it hasn't been synced (doesn't apply here).

- The locally cached version of the track your Spotify app has is corrupt, either when it was downloaded or something has happened to it (virus scanners spring to mind). 

I know its a pain because you have to resync content, but does a clean reinstallation of the client/app clear the error? 

Peter

Peter
Spotify Community Mentor and Troubleshooter

Spotify Last.FM Twitter LinkedIn Meet Peter Rock Star Jam 2014

If this post was helpful, please add kudos below!

View solution in original post

Marked as solution

Hi. Could you try reinstalling the spotify app on your iphone to see if that fixes things.

View solution in original post

22 Replies