Announcements

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

FAQs

Please see below the most popular frequently asked questions.

Loading article...

Loading faqs...

Ongoing Issues

Please see below the current ongoing issues which are under investigation.

Loading issue...

Loading ongoing issues...

How can non-Facebook Users Locate Facebook Users?

How can non-Facebook Users Locate Facebook Users?

I am new to Spotify, so my account is linked to Facebook and my "username" is an arbitrary series of numbers.  Some of my friends, who are older users with custom usernames, have opted NOT to connect their Facebook accounts with their Spotify accounts.  I know that I can search for them if I have their usernames by using "spotify:user:username" in the search bar.  Since they are not alerted when I add them, how are THEY supposed to locate ME in return?  Is the only way for them to search for me (searching by spotify:user:username), plugging in my random numerical "username"?  Or can they locate me by searching with some other, more rational identifier (like my full name or email address)?  (As a side note: I had intentionally deactivated my Facebook over a year ago because I do not care to use it, and was forced to reactivate it in order to use Spotify.  In order to maintain my privacy, I had to dramatically alter the contents of my Facebook page since you forced me to make it active.  This was extremely burdensome, and I despise forced Facebook integration in general.)

7 Replies

Hi wildchild22 - Welcome to the Community (and to Spotify). 

So yes, the only way for your friends to locate you would be via "spotify:user:username" as you mentioned. You can find your 10-digit username easily by just signing into your profile page

If these friends were to link their Spotify accounts to Facebook, they could also locate you in the 'People' section within the desktop app.