Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

Please improve the Android client? :)

Please improve the Android client? :)

Dear Spotify team,

after using your service for almost 6 months and being a Premium subscriber since day one I have to say that the Desktop client is pretty good, the mobile (especially Android) client is horrible. Here are a few things you could fix. And hey, being an Android App developer myself I'll even post you links how to do it XD

1. Why can't we add entire albums or al songs from an artist to a playlist?

To implement this you need to go into your *yourname*_menu.xml and add "Add Album to" and "Add all songs to" into the context menu that will be created when in the fragment to display artist information (It's a TabHost, isn't it?) As Spotify isn't open source I don't know what it's called 😛

2. Play all songs by an artist. Or add a quickselect feature what songs to play

Why the hell would I have to create a playlist and then add ALL the songs from the artist into it one by one into it to listen to all songs by an artist?

You can either use the *yourame*_menu.xml method to create a button saying "play all songs" in the artist context menu. BUT even better would be to add an option to select a couple of songs that then get queued. again, not one by one but all at once. You could use a CheckBox in your row_layout (taking that you're using a custom implementation of the BaseAdapter to do your list views) and set the CheckBox to hidden when not needed. Think about it 😛

3. Tripple click on Headphone Media Button trigers previous song

This actually worked on my iPhone but not on my Galaxy S3 and Nexus 7. Not sure if it's the headphones or if the Android Spotify client doesn't support this. It's pretty easy. I assume you're already using an instance of the RemoteControlReceiver and just add this into a Switch/Case:

elseif (keycode == KeyEvent.KEYCODE_MEDIA_PREVIOUS) {
// Your code here :)
}

4. Please give your Service a higher priority!