Announcements

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

FAQs

Please see below the most popular frequently asked questions.

Loading article...

Loading faqs...

Ongoing Issues

Please see below the current ongoing issues which are under investigation.

Loading issue...

Loading ongoing issues...

Do artists get paid for offline listening?

Solved!

Do artists get paid for offline listening?

I download all my music that I don't pay for (streaming) to my phone, because who wants to constantly use data.

I'm also a music producer with content on streaming services. Am I getting paid for offline listens for the millions of people who might stream things once, but then download it to their phones?

I can't find an answer to this anywhere online. I would only assume no, cause how could you track offline listens, but I hope I'm wrong. If it's a no, what are the future plans to fix this for Artists?

Thanks.

Accepted Solutions
Marked as solution

Hey @Trstn,

I believe that artists do get paid, even when the listener is always listening to their songs in offline mode.

Spotify probably tracks how many times a song's been played, and when the app's back online, it 'uploads it to the server'.

Hope this helps!

MaximSpotify Star
Help others find this answer and click "Accept as Solution".
If you appreciate my answer, maybe give me a Like.
Note: I'm not a Spotify employee.

View solution in original post

5 Replies
Marked as solution

Hey @Trstn,

I believe that artists do get paid, even when the listener is always listening to their songs in offline mode.

Spotify probably tracks how many times a song's been played, and when the app's back online, it 'uploads it to the server'.

Hope this helps!

MaximSpotify Star
Help others find this answer and click "Accept as Solution".
If you appreciate my answer, maybe give me a Like.
Note: I'm not a Spotify employee.

Today's mobile plans are so good ... don't need to go offline - here in the UK (giffgaff).