Announcements
The Spotify Stars Program: Celebrating Values Week!

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

Too many ads

Too many ads

I returned to my office after being off for the summer and loaded up Spotify on my Windows 10 work computer. I started playing an album. After the second track, Spotify played several ads--I think more then five. That is an unreasonable amount of ads--way too many. I'm not going to subscribe to Spotify because there are so many streaming services, and I'm a professional concert musician, so much of what I want to hear is not available on Spotify anyway. Furthermore, I am not the target consumer for the ads Spotify plays. So that's it, I no longer listen to music through Spotify.

14 Replies

Hey there @Dissonance7

thanks for posting !

Ads are presented on the "Free" version of the app, same as all other streaming services around the world - video or audio.

When subscribing to Premium, ads aren't presented at all, again same as all other services.

You do have the full option of enjoying any service you want but it's important to mention this isn't different from any other "Free" accounts there are out there.

Thanks 🙂

Thanks, OneByBoo!

It makes total sense why the free version has ads. What I think is a problem is that Spotify plays a large number of ads. The album I tried to listen to played at least five ads after the second track. Two ads during ad breaks seems reasonable.

since 2017 the ads have been just more and more

100% I never understood it, if anything its just going to turn people off spotify? feels like a force to get you to pay for it but for me it just made me not use it 3 or 4 ads after a song is abit overload imo

Hey folks,

Thanks for reaching out and voicing your concerns.

We understand where you're coming from and will make sure all your feedback reaches the right teams. We always aim to improve and you can be sure that your voice will be heard.