Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

Spotify on Alexa constantly interrupting

Spotify on Alexa constantly interrupting

Hi everyone,

I have an Alexa Echo Dot connected to speakers and play songs from Spotify on it. However, when I have the Spotify app opened on my Mac or iPhone, they constantly hijack the sound from the Alexa and interrupt my music. Is there any way to fix this?

14 Replies

I'm experiencing the same identical issue for a month, I have a premium subscription, and now it's becoming impossible to listen to a song, it's very annoying.
With Deezer everything was working fine, so it's not Alexa, it's a spotify serious issue.

Hi everyone! I have the same issue with an Echo Show 8. But not on my Echo Dot 4. I tried now using Amazon Music and it works without any issues, so it's not a device issue, it seems to be a skill issue. 

Anyone knows what's the issue?

Hey folks,

Thanks for reaching out in the Community about this.

Can you check when you open the Spotify app on your phone or laptop, do you see the Connect menu saying that Spotify is playing on another device or not? Or is it just that once you open the app on another device the music is immediately interrupted on your Echo speaker?

It would be great if anyone can share a video recording of the issue. You can attach it to your reply (under 5MB) or add it as a link to Youtube or similar. This will help us get a broader view of what's going on exactly.

Keep us posted.

AlexModerator
Help others find this answer and click "Accept as Solution".
If you appreciate an answer, maybe give it a Like.
Are you new to the Community? Take a moment to introduce yourself!

Hi,

I also have the same issue. 

I tried rebooting my Alexa (Echo Show 8 gen2).
I unliked and re liked my Spotify skill (account).