Announcements
The Spotify Stars Program: Celebrating Values Week!

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

South African debit card not working

South African debit card not working

Plan

Premium

Country

South Africa

Device

Galaxy S9+, Windows PC

Operating System

Android, Windows 10

My Question or Issue

Good day,

My old debit card expired that I was using for premium subscriptiont. I am trying to update with my new debit card but I keep getting an error message. I contacted my bank (First National Bank, South Africa) and they told me it is set up for online purchases and recurring online billing, so it's an issue from Spotify side. My partner also has the same card and cannot join Spotify at all.

I know this card works for online recurring payments as I have a subscription with Google.

Trying to update my subscription

Screenshot_20190406-100403_Chrome.jpg
16 Replies

Hey @guitarshredda15 ,

Thanks for reaching out.

I'd recommend making sure that you're entering the right payment details.

You can also check out this support article for some more steps that you can try.

Let me know how it goes. 🙂

MaximSpotify Star
Help others find this answer and click "Accept as Solution".
If you appreciate my answer, maybe give me a Like.
Note: I'm not a Spotify employee.

Thanks for the response. I have tried everything, Spotify does not accept this card. My partner also cannot join Spotify either. I am very confused as my old debit card from the same bank worked flawlessly for many months. 
Is there no one from South Africa who can advise on this? Surely other people must be having the same issues with these debit cards and Spotify subscriptions?

Hey @guitarshredda15 ,

Thanks for letting me know.

Can you please try the following steps:

• Try again in an incognito/private window in your browser
  • Try updating your payment method from a different network
  • Try with a different device

If you're still having troubles after that, please try the following steps: