Announcements
The Spotify Stars Program: Celebrating Values Week!

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

Linux client barely usable on HiDPI displays

Solved!

Linux client barely usable on HiDPI displays

I have a 4k display, and the Linux (at least?) client is practically unusable.

Is HiDPI support on the roadmap?

54 Replies

searli not true. The GNOME DE will auto scale applications on an integer scale but you can force some individual applications to do fractional scaling.

Experiment:  force the resolution at 1.3, 1.7, 2.0, 2.5. You will see they all increase in size fractionally. I know this because I've done it on Fedora running GNOME.

I have experimented and this was my experience on Fedora / Gnome - if you
use the fractional scaling when starting spotify in the terminal or if you
update spotify.desktop it did not work for me, it simply ignored the
scaling - it did work however setting it to 2.0 - so I shall leave it at
that 🙂

Baller, Thanks.

I'm pretty new to linux, and this command worked for me, however, I want to understand why. Is putting that command after the Exec=spotify %U like running an execute command with the option of forcing the ui to scale up? Hopefully my question is clear. Just wanted some background info or knowledge on why this worked I guess. Thanks.

Yes, the command option --force-device-scale-factor=1.8 forces the UI to scale up. I don't know all the details but the Spotify app doesn't respect your desktops scaling settings on HiDPI screens. adding that option forces it to work. Just be aware when you get an update for the Spotify application you will need to do this again. An update means you will get a new desktop file as well. 

Debian 9 

sudo vim /usr/local/share/applications/spotify.desktop