Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

Media Overlay keeps reappearing

Media Overlay keeps reappearing

Me and many other people that I have seen on the Community have been faced with the same bug: the 'Show desktop overlay while using media keys' option on Spotify isn't working correctly. When I open Spotify, the client acts as if the option is checked, but in Preferences it is unchecked. Enabling and disabling the setting turns it off for that session, but upon closing and opening Spotify, the media overlay turns on again.

66 Replies

Still happens. I already perform a clean installation.

Spotify version: 1.0.93.244.g1e3a05e7
SO version: Windows 10 Pro x64

media_control_disabled.png

Spotify Version: 1.0.93.244.g1e3a05e7

It would be really nice if you stopped this bug from reappearing. I'm no expert, but before an update rolls out, it wouldn't be that hard to test... It's really annoying to have to deal with this bug constantly.

Same here! Really annoying.

It opens also when I open Microsoft mail or Microsoft Calender or even the Windows settings!

Veriosn. 1.0.93.244.g1e3a05e7

Happens to me as well, very irritating. Bug occured after an update around 2-3 weeks ago.

Current Spotify version: 1.0.94.262.g3d5c231c

Only happens on Windows 10 Desktop

Spotify version: 1.0.93.244.g1e3a05e7

Device: Desktop PC

Spotify version: 1.0.93.244.g1e3a05e7

Overlay off in settings, still popping up.

Having the same problem. Version 1.0.93.244.g1e3a05e7
Please fix this, it's so annoying. The banner stays on screen too long and it covers up the screen, and if you mouse over it by accident, it stays on screen even longer. I just want to change the volume, I don't need extraneous information....... 

mediakeys.png

Hey there folks!

Thanks for keeping us up to speed regarding this. 

In this case, we'd recommend heading to this Ongoing Issue report and adding your +VOTE.