Announcements

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

Spotify windows application shows local music files without my consent (privacy issue!)

Spotify windows application shows local music files without my consent (privacy issue!)

Today I activated my Spotify Premium again (I was premium user in the past). Today I downloaded and installed Spotify Windows application for my PC, Windows 10. When I started playing music I noticed under section 'Songs' a song by a singer who's music I also have stored locally. When I clicked on this one song, it brought me to the list of songs and on top of the page it says 'Local Files'. I was appalled! I never game Spotify consent to load my local music into your application! I want to use Spotify stricly to listen to Your music. My music is private and no business of Spotify!

After installation I changed the place where Spotify should store its files, and its on the same (separate drive) where my local music is stored. I created a new map for Spotify music, which is outside of the maps with my local music (so the location is in the root of this separate drive), and next to this new map for local Spotify music are the two other maps with local music.

Before posting here I doublechecked in Settings that my option to 'Show local files' is turned Off, and it is turned off.

Plan

Premium

Device

PC

Operating System

Windows 10

My Issue

Privacy issue! Spotify loads local files into Spotify Windows application without any consent automatically (and I'm very angry about this!). 

Please fix this a.s.a.p. Currently I'm thinking about filing a complaint with the Dutch Data Protection Authority. As no consent is given, and was never given in the past.

3 Replies

Hey there @dontcarefornick!

Thanks for reaching out to us. Privacy and security are very important to us and we'll do our best to help you sort this out.