Announcements
The Spotify Stars Program: Celebrating Values Week!

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

Volume erratic on Windows while connected to Discord

Volume erratic on Windows while connected to Discord

Plan

Premium

Country

UK

Device

HP Pavilion laptop ca 2014

Operating System

Windows 10

My Question or Issue

I am a writer and use music when I'm working. Recently during my writers group sessions (for which I use Discord), the volume has been going up and up and then down, seemingly at random, while connected to Discord (with the mic muted).

I've updated the Communications setting via the Control Panel > Sound Settings, to 'Do Nothing' for when Windows detects any communication software on, and disabled volume normalisation within Spotify settings. 

I have also tried uninstalling and reinstalling the app itself, but the problem has persisted. 

Is there something else I should be trying? Is this perhaps a known glitch? I haven't found any other similar forum topics, so apologies if this has been covered and I missed it in my search. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

3 Replies

Hey @darthjuno,

Thanks for reaching out about this here in the Community. 

Seems like another user found a solution to a similar issue by double-checking the discord-related integrations on the device. For further info regarding this, it'd be good to take a look here and, eventually, reach out to the right team using the Need More Support? button at the bottom of the page.

Hope you'll find this info useful. Let us know if there's anything else we can help with.

Have a nice day!

Mario Moderator
Help others find this answer and click "Accept as Solution".
If you appreciate an answer, maybe give it a Like.
Are you new to the Community? Take a moment to introduce yourself!

Hi Mario,