Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

Why is Spotify scanning my media library

Solved!

Why is Spotify scanning my media library

Hello, I've noticed that while listening to music via the Spotify app - it scans my other hard drives contents. 

spotify_scan.PNG

1) Why is the application doing that?

2) How and where is the application using/sending this data?

Accepted Solutions
Marked as solution

Hey @Pr6,

Welcome to Spotify Community!

It looks like your Downloads folder is checked as a local files source.

Go to edit-> preferences ( or ctrl + P ) and check if Downloads is selected under Local Files category 🙂

View solution in original post

5 Replies
Marked as solution

Hey @Pr6,

Welcome to Spotify Community!

It looks like your Downloads folder is checked as a local files source.

Go to edit-> preferences ( or ctrl + P ) and check if Downloads is selected under Local Files category 🙂

I'm new to Spotify and just realiased that it's been scanning all my drives. This is a VERY UNACCEPTABLE INVASION OF PRIVACY! 

It should only scan any folders that are specifically added. 

God knows what else is being scanned or dumped on our machines! Tantamount to a trojan! Very dissapointed this has been known for so long and not addressed. 

Do you care SPOTIFY??

I'm on Windows 7 and it wouldn't even let me uninstall the app - kept crashing everytime I tried to uninstall?! Had to manually remove the thing + it doesn't even install in the usual programs folder! darn virus - don't install!!

I totally agree to imzumek. With the "local files" setting to "off" still spotify scans my drives (I can tell, because it forces onedrive to download files). 

That is not acceptable!