Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

“Appears On” feature gone

Solved!

“Appears On” feature gone

Can someone explain what is happening? I’m a growing artist and I have a featured artist on a song, but it’s not getting a lot of plays because the “appears on” feature is wiped! I’m sure this is disabling listeners and artists. Spotify please bring this back. This is insane!!

180 Replies

I can’t believe Spotify has delivered such a blow to artists in this way! Removing this feature is absolutely asinine! This hurts both growing artists using spotify, and just the average Spotify user listening to music. 

Most of the songs I’m on as an artist are features, so you have basically made Spotify irrelevant to me, both as an artist and as a listener. You are already **bleep** over featured artists by not allowing those songs to show up in their most popular songs list, and now you have effed us again!!!.  

Besides really hurting growing artists, as a listener, this feature helped me find songs Artists I like are featured on, and taking that away is extremely stupid!!

I will cancel my subscription, and not use it anymore to promote myself as an artist!! 

There is so much absurdity involved in this.  I kind of understand the removal of the feature, if they have UX data that shows that not enough people use it.  As a person in software development, I can see this feature adding a large load (client/server resources and development).  However, it's unfortunate that an improvement to universal load time has outweighed utility for many users in this case: https://community.spotify.com/t5/Live-Ideas/All-Platforms-Browse-Bring-back-Appears-On-section/idc-p...

Either way, it's still absurd that the initial Spotify response on this forum was that they are looking into why it disappeared.  Then approximately a month later telling everyone "Just kidding, we're not looking into it, we actually removed it on purpose".

• How was this not communicated to the community?