Country

UK

Device

Samsung S7 Edge

Operating System

Android

My Question or Issue

Hello folks,

I'm new to this streaming malarky and I'm not a spring chicken either, I'm 52 years old. 

I've just got a ChromeCast Audio. When I play a track in Spotify it's fine. When I search for an artist or album and select a track from the list, I hit the play icon, the track that's playing stops, the play icon turns into a pause icon, a circle gradually appears around the icon then the track that was playing before continues.

Thing is it works on my Samsung Galaxy tablet. As soon as I click the play icon the track starts.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks

Accepted Solutions
Marked as solution

Hey @GMC_Phil,

Thanks for clearing that out. 

Because that's what usually happens on the free version when you select a track, the same thing would appear on any song and only 30 seconds of it would play then it would stop.

You solved the issue and that's what matters 🙂

Have a great day!

View solution in original post

15 Replies

Hey @GMC_Phil, welcome to the Community.

Hope you are doing great!

Play songs on demand is a Premium feature only and that's the reason that is happening on your mobile. The user experience is a bit different on mobile and the desktop versions though even if you are on the free tier.

Hope it helps 🙂

Thanks but it works fine on my Samsung tablet. I just click a song and it plays it right away.

Thanks

Phil

Hey @GMC_Phil,

Yes as I mentioned in my previous post, the experience is a bit differrent in tablets and desktop apps of Spotify, even on the free tier you can play any song on demand 🙂

If you need help with anything else don't hesitate to ask 🙂

So the version of the app is different for my mobile phone and my mobile tablet? 

It works on my desktop except for the volume control (ctrl and up/down arrows) but I'm not too bothered about the PC.