Announcements

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

Option to turn off Smart shuffle permanently

It is wild how many times over the last year of having this feature I've come to this board to see if disabling it has finally been added. I can guarantee this feature is still HOTLY in demand.

I am a developer myself and I just know how easy a toggle is to add. It's ridiculous. One little toggled boolean in the settings that lets you skip over the option in the shuffle rotation.

On top of it being intrusive, this feature lags the app making it even more intrusive! Sometimes when clicking through, there is a huge lag, honestly up to 5 seconds where the shuffle status is completely unknown and bouncing back to previous states.

There are better ways to implement this feature! 

Why is it loading songs for the entire playlist when it's turned on? It should only be loading in recommended songs when it's choosing to go to a recommended song. I have gigantic playlists and the upfront cost of adding in recommended songs to a 2,471 song playlist is not cheap.

Not only does this feature annoy me as someone who casually uses this app but it infuriates me as a developer.

I hate it.

Comments
hot_n_ready

I am not kidding.

It has been 30 minutes since I wrote this post.

I have been listening to my playlist. I have turned off the smart shuffle SIX TIMES - I clicked it twice to go back to normal shuffle.

There's something attached to the next button right now that's moving it into smart shuffle:

https://staging.streamable.com/03scdm

If the smart shuffle is enabled at some point during listening too - If I can manage to turn smart shuffle off - the songs that are cached from the smart shuffle are staying in the queue. So even when I am no longer using smart shuffle, I can't get away from this feature:

https://staging.streamable.com/29xnnn