Music Fan

Plan: Premium

Device

(iPhone 8 Plus)

Operating System

(iOS 13)

MacBook Air (OS 10.15.3)

My Question or Issue

I know this is the oldest problem ever, but I can’t figure it out. Somebody please tell me what I’m doing wrong.

I’m a musician and I regularly sync my demos into a Spotify playlist so i can evaluate them on the go. I’ve never had an issue syncing local files before. But now all the sudden it doesn’t work.

To be clear:

1. The file is a regular mp3, no weird formatting

2. It’s my own artist, track and album name so it’s not conflicting with meta data from songs on Spotify

3. My macbook and my iPhone are both on the same WiFi network

4. I have dragged the song from local files into a playlist that is set for offline listening

But it won’t download/sync to my phone. It’s making me nuts. Is there something I’m not thinking of? I’ve done this a thousand times before and never had an issue.

Please help!

9 Replies

MauiPuppy
Casual Listener

I figured out the solution!

In the Home window from the mobile app, go to settings in the top right corner, scroll down to local files, then enable local files sync. I can't believe I spent an hour fighting with support and they told me it wasn't possible anymore when it was that easy!

Let me know if this solves the problem for you 🙂

ashley_
Casual Listener

This worked for me too! I was following the instructions to delete my cache, then noticed the 'Local Files' option in the 'Settings' menu. It was un-ticked, so I ticked it back on. I went to the playlist on my iPhone (XR) and it showed it was loading, but it wasn't until I opened the Spotify playlist on my MacBook that it finally downloaded the local file on my iPhone.

Spotify needs to change that pop-up alert!

Ivan

Hey @ashley_

Thanks for posting here on the Community.