Announcements
The Spotify Stars Program: Celebrating Values Week!

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

Music interrupted by notification/ring

Solved!

Music interrupted by notification/ring

Listening to music on Spotify on my Samsung Galaxy S3 running Android 4.1.1, the music is always being interrupted by the notification sounds, like when I get a text. I cannot find the a setting that will stop this from happening, apart from getting rid of all notification and ringer sounds altogether, which I obviously do not want to do. Has anyone found a solution to this?

42 Replies

turning off notifications could work, but what if you are using a navigation software and listen to the music at the same time? You don't want to miss the instructions. What if you are waiting for an important message, but want to listen to music until it arrives? It takes two lines of code for Spotify to fix this, but they don't care. I am a software developer and sent them the code, but they are ignoring. 

Not to ressurect a dead thread, but in the newest version, they sort of fixed the problem. If you're device is not plugged into any auxilary or headphones it will duck properly...but once you plug something in it doesn't work anymore...not sure why this could be. Half way there though

The problem right now however is that if you use navigation like Waze, the directions you receive are in a lower volume as well so barely audible. So when you look at it right now it's actually worse than before. At least for me. Would be nice to have a toggle setting for this.

Even better, let the user select if the notification audio level drops or the spotify audio level drops, or disable the playback.

I *want* this behaviour (though it's broken at the moment). So I think it needs to be an option.