Announcements
The Spotify Stars Program: Celebrating Values Week!

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

Spotify App on LG C9 no sound on playback

Solved!

Spotify App on LG C9 no sound on playback

I recently purchased an LG C9 OLED TV (this is the 2019 model) and when trying to stream music using the built in Spotify app I get no sound despite the track showing as playing. I am using the most recent version of the app. I have tried uninstalling/reinstalling the app. Volume is turned up. Mute is off. Audio is through internal TV speakers, no external devices are connected. I have a Spotify premium subscription and I am logged in through facebook. Other apps (e.g. Netflix) work with no issues.

Is this a known issue with the Spotify app on LG decives (or this specific device)?

Also, after about 30 seconds of streaming the app will randomly jump back to the Spotify home screen. Further, selecting play to start streaming a track only works intermittently, most of the time nothing happens.

I called LG tech support. They concluded it's an issue with the app and not the TV but they have no record of similar issues reported by other customers (not sure if that's tracked but the lady said she's not aware of an issue).

Accepted Solutions
Marked as solution

Was able to resolve by resetting TV to factory settings and then reinstalling the Spotify app

View solution in original post

Marked as solution

Solution:

In the general settings, turn "Quick Start+" off.  That will allow the TV to actually shut down properly instead of going into a kind of hibernation state where it never actually resets how the audio is internally configured with the player (nor hence the bug that's causing the issue).

With that option off, turning the TV off and back on again actually fixes it, as I'm sure you all would probably have otherwise already tried to do in the first place.  Hope this works for you!

View solution in original post

10 Replies
Marked as solution