Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

Switching from Premium Duo to Family

Solved!

Switching from Premium Duo to Family

I have a Premium Duo subscription, and I want to switch to Family Plan so I can add my other family members to use Spotify. However, when I want to switch, it notifies me that the 2nd user will lose access to the account immediately.

I just want him to be included into the family plan without losing the account data, such as favourite tracks, playlists and everything he has achieved by using spotify so far. is it somehow possible?

Accepted Solutions
Marked as solution

Hey @Turtlebro, thanks for reaching out to the Community!

Don't worry, when you switch subscription plans - they won't lose any saved content, including music and playlists. 

Just to make sure, you mentioned it says 'you'll lose access to the account immediately'. Can you send me a screenshot of what you're seeing so I can take a look? Make sure to hide sensitive information when posting to the Community.

Looking out for your reply!

Billy-JSpotify Star
Help others find this answer and click "Accept as Solution".
If you appreciate my answer, maybe give me a Like.
Note: I'm not a Spotify employee.

View solution in original post

Marked as solution

Hey @Turtlebro,

Thanks for the screenshot.

Yes, you're correct! The Premium Duo partner's account will revert to Free, but they won't lose access to their account and they'll still have their saved music, playlists, and podcasts. The only thing they'll lose access to would be the Premium (unless they join the Premium Family plan or start a Premium subscription).

You can invite others to your Premium Family plan following these steps. There is also some more information on getting started with a Premium Family plan here.

To conclude, yes you're clear to upgrade to Premium Family with no worries. You'll both won't lose access to your saved content on the account. 

I hope you'll find this useful!

Billy-JSpotify Star