Announcements

Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

Will there be a Cache / Data in memory Limit?!

Will there be a Cache / Data in memory Limit?!

Hello together,

I am new to Spotify. Just recently switched from Deezer ...
I am using Spotify mainly via Android devices.

First thing I recognized is, that you cannot limit spotify in collecting cache data or deleting it, without losing all your offline data as well (via the option in the settings).

In my opinion this is a great disadvantage. Certainly I understand somehow the need of creating a certain cache memory, but without any kind of limitation Spotify will flood my internat / as well as the external memory (SD card when chosen as memory) quite fast.

And this certainly should not be the case.

My question, does anybody know if the amount of data collected by Spotify is limited by the app or usually by the phones itself to avoid a complete usage of the memory for cache data? (eg. to a certain maximum size)

Would be nice if you could share your opinion and experiences. 🙂

Thanks in advance.
David

1 Reply

Hello,

I'm having this same problem and it is pretty severe as there seems to be no limit for Spotify's saved data what so ever. I have to regularly clear the data manually as it gets so big that it uses all the available memory of my phone - I'm talking about several gigabytes here.