Help Wizard

Step 1

NEXT STEP

Can't verify student status

Can't verify student status

I just activated my free 30 day trial of Premium and then went to try to verify my student status and it can't/won't verify that I'm a student. I changed my email to my school email and it still doesn't acknowledge my student status. I have a Unidays account, which is apparently how Spotify verifies student status, but the site doesn't ask for any information from my Unidays account. I don't know if this has anything to do with it, but when I go to spotify.com/student, it redirects me to spotify.com/uk/student, and I'm in the US, so I don't know if that has anything to do with it? How can I verify my student status?

11 Replies

Hey @mmanning1299,

Sorry to hear this, but no worries - help’s here.

If Spotify is unable to verify your student ID, you won’t be eligible to claim the Student discount. Please make sure:

• You haven’t already claimed the discount on another Spotify account. Find other accounts.
  • Your school is listed. If you didn’t see your school in the list during sign up, we're afraid you're not eligble right now. 
  • You haven’t exceeded the 4-year limit. The discount lasts 12 months at a time, with the option to renew a maximum of 3 times as long as you're eligible. After 4 years, you're no longer eligible. 

Spotiy uses SheerID to verify your student credentials, so if you’re still having trouble signing up you can get in touch with them.

You can also submit for manual verification (this can take up to 3 working days to process). For more info, check out SheerID FAQs.

If the link redirects you to the UK site, you might have selected the wrong country. You can change your country to the correct one following the steps here

Billy-JSpotify Star
Help others find this answer and click "Accept as Solution".
If you appreciate my answer, maybe give me a Like.
Note: I'm not a Spotify employee.